University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Home > People >

Arkady Vainshtein

Emeritus Faculty (Fine Theoretical Physics Institute)

TATEH 275-17 (office), 626-0814
vainshte @


Gloria Becker Lubkin Chair in Theoretical Physics, 1990-
Member of W.I. Fine Theoretical Physics Institute, 1990-
Professor of Physics, University of Minnesota, 1990-
Director, FTPI, 1993-1996
APS Fellow, 1997
J.J. Sakurai Prize for Theoretical Particle Physics, APS, 1999
Ya. Pomeranchuk Prize, ITEP, Moscow, 2005
Julius Wess Award, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, 2014
Dirac Medal and Prize, 2016

Co-organizer of the FTPI workshops “Continuous Advances in QCD” (every other year);
one of coordinators of the program “QCD and String Theory,” Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics, Santa Barbara, CA, 2004;
member of advisory committee of many workshops, schools and conferences.

Summary of Interests
Theory of fundamental interactions: gauge theories, supersymmetry. Operator product expansion and its applications.

Advisees and Collaborators

Olesya Koroteeva, Physics Grad Student, Teaching Assistant

Selected Publications

J. Chen, X. Cui, M. Shifman and A. Vainshtein, ''N=(0,2) deformation of (2, 2) sigma models: Geometric structure, holomorphic anomaly, and exact beta functions'', Phys. Rev. D 90, 045014 (2014)

M. Shifman, A. Vainshtein, M.B. Voloshin and V.Zakharov, “Higgs boson decay into two photons through the W-boson Loop: No decoupling in the m_W -> 0 Limit'', Phys. Rev. D 85, 013015 (2012) [abstract]

A. Ritz and A. Vainshtein, “Dyon dynamics near marginal stability and non-BPS states“, Phys. Lett. B 668, 148 (2008) [abstract]

M. Shifman and A. Vainshtein, “Highly Excited Mesons, Linear Regge Trajectories and the Pattern of the Chiral Symmetry Realization'', Phys. Rev. D77, 034002 (2008) [abstract]

K. Melnikov and A. Vainshtein, Book: Theory of the muon anomalous magnetic moment, Berlin, Germany: Springer, (2006)


M.S. in Physics, Novosibirsk University, 1964
Ph.D. in Theoretical and Math Physics, Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics, Novosibirsk, 1968