University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Home > Alumni >

Goldman Alumni Celebration

Allen Goldman
Allen Goldman

In conjunction with the symposium, "Superconductivity: from collective modes to quantum phase transitions" from May 1-3, 2009.

This workshop honors the contributions of Allen Goldman over a career spanning more than 40 years at the University of Minnesota. Invited speakers from around the world, including collaborators and former students, will speak on research that has been enriched over the years by Allen's insight and creativity in the field of superconductivity. A large number of Allen's students will be returning for the symposium and a celebration dinner on Saturday, May 2nd.

Allen joined the School of Physics and Astronomy in 1965. In the 1970's, his group discovered the existence of gapless order-parameter collective modes, now known as Carlson-Goldman modes, in superconducting films. Allen was one of the pioneers in the physics of two-dimensional systems, including the Kosterlitz-Thouless transition in superconducting thin films and networks. In the mid 1980's, he and his group developed a new means for preparing extremely thin quench-condensed superconducting films, and Allen's subsequent research has led to a profound understanding of the onset of superconductivity at zero temperature. His demonstration that the superconductor-insulator transition in thin films has universal properties has made it one of the canonical examples of a quantum phase transition. Allen has also advanced the materials physics of superconductivity by perfecting new techniques for the growth of high-temperature superconductors by molecular beam epitaxy.

During his career at the University of Minnesota, Allen has mentored over 50 graduate students and 15 postdoctoral associates. He was appointed Professor of Physics in 1975, an Institute of Technology Distinguished Professor in 1992, and was named a Regents Professor, the University of Minnesota's highest distinction, in 2008. Among other honors, Allen is a fellow of the American Association for Advancement of Science and the American Physical Society. In recognition of his research on superconducting thin films, he was awarded the Fritz London Memorial Prize in 2002, and he was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2007. In addition to his service as Head of the School of Physics and Astronomy since 1996, Allen is the current chair of the Division of Condensed Matter Physics of the American Physical Society.