University of Minnesota
School of Physics & Astronomy
Tony Gherghetta
< >

Tony Gherghetta is a theoretical particle physicist whose research focuses on extensions of the Standard Model of particle physics. The Standard Model describes the nature and interactions of the elementary building blocks of the Universe.


Mandic to receive Taylor Award for research

Vuk Mandic

Professor Vuk Mandic will receive the 2017 Taylor Award for Distinguished Research. Mandic studies the earliest stages of the universe at the highest energy scales. He is a member of two collaborations: LIGO which recently confirmed the existence of gravitational waves and CDMS which is searching for Dark Matter. More »

Fernandes to receive Taylor teaching award

Fernandes Update 2015.jpg

Assistant Professor Rafael Fernandes will receive the 2017 George W. Taylor Career Development Award. The award recognizes exceptional contributions to teaching by a candidate for tenure. More »

Pribiag receives Sloan Fellowship

Vlad Pribiag

Professor Vlad Pribiag has been selected as a 2017 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow in Physics. Pribiag is one of only 23 physicists to receive the fellowship this year. Pribiag's research focuses on electronic transport in low-dimensional materials. More »

Chaterjee wins CMS Award

Rajdeep Chatterjee (center) accepts an award from the CMS experiment

Dr. Rajdeep Chatterjee,Researcher at the School, was given an award for outstanding young scientists who have made significant contributions to the Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) experiment. More »

Local SPS named outstanding chapter

SPS Student at an outreach event

The School of Physics and Astronomy's Society of Physics Students was named an outstanding chapter for the year 2015. "SPS has continuously worked hard to provide opportunities for our members to thrive both in academic as well as social pursuits," said Chapter President, Levi Walls. More »


Thursday, March 23rd
10:10 am:
Biophysics Seminar in 120 PAN
There will be no seminar this week.
12:05 pm:
Brian O'Neill
3:35 pm:
New Paradigms for Superconductivity —
Nandini Trivedi, Ohio State University
Refreshments to be served outside Smith 100 after the colloquium.
Friday, March 24th
11:15 am:
There will be no seminar this week.
12:20 pm:
Measurements of 1/f Noise in CuMn Thin Films —
David Harrison, University of Minnesota
Note change of room, this week only.
12:30 pm:
Phenomenology of gauge and fermion-preheating and the end of axion inflation —
Peter Adshead (UIUC)
2:30 pm:
Small Worlds – New Vistas —
3:35 pm:
"Making Maintainers: A Place for History in an Age of Innovation-Speak and Endless Tech Hype" —
Lee Vinsel, Stevens Institute of Technology
Refreshments served at 3:25 p.m.
4:40 pm:
From the status of the Universe to the status of the planet, the best research group around —
Shaul Hanany, University of Minnesota
Note change of location for this week only.
4:40 pm:
Student Study Practices, Self-Efficacy, and Classroom Performance —
Brita Nellermoe, University of St. Thomas
Subscribe to Physics Calendar RSS feed | Full Calendar »